What Are The 4 Ofsted Categories?

What are Ofsted 3 I’s?

They unpick the new guidance from Ofsted, centring on curriculum intent, implementation and impact: the essential ‘three Is’ that all schools need to be able to plan for and articulate.

They also describe how schools can achieve the ‘three Is’ using the Cornerstones Curriculum..

What are the main changes in the new Ofsted framework?

Change 1: New judgement – Quality of education Perhaps the biggest change to the new framework is the introduction of the new judgement Quality of education. This new judgement combines the Teaching, learning & assessment and Outcomes judgements which were present under the the previous EIF.

What questions does Ofsted ask?

Want to get ahead and prepare for an Ofsted inspection? Here are 10 questions you might be asked as an EYFS leader….Q8. How do you know what a child’s ‘next steps’ are?How do you identify children’s next steps?How do you record them?Do you make parents/carers aware of what their child’s next steps are?

How accurate are Ofsted reports?

It found just 18 per cent of teachers agreed Ofsted acts as a reliable and trusted arbiter of schools, with 55 per cent disagreeing.

What is the new Ofsted framework?

As governors will be well aware, Ofsted published a new inspection framework which has formed the basis of inspections since September. The new framework brings with it a number of changes: Outstanding schools are no longer exempt from inspections. Section 8 inspections will now last two days.

What can trigger an Ofsted inspection?

Ofsted inspections are triggered differently if you’re a ‘new’ or established school….Then, they consider each case based on:The outcomes of any inspections carried out since the last routine inspection.Qualifying complaints by parents.Statutory warning notices.Any other significant concerns.

What does inadequate mean in Ofsted?

Schools judged ‘inadequate’ This means Ofsted judges the school either to have serious weaknesses or to require special measures. … If an academy is judged inadequate and placed in a category of concern, Ofsted will monitor the school.

What do Ofsted look for in a nursery?

gauging children’s levels of understanding and their engagement in learning. talking to practitioners about their assessment of what children know and can do and how they are building on it. observing care routines and how they are used to support children’s personal development.

What are the four Ofsted areas?

So the four Ofsted inspection categories will be:Quality of education.Behaviour and attitudes.Personal development.Leadership and management.

What are the 4 Ofsted grades?

grade 1: outstanding. grade 2: good. grade 3: requires improvement. grade 4: inadequate.

What is Ofsted looking for?

Ofsted’s role is to make sure that organisations providing education, training and care services in England do so to a high standard for children and students. Every week, we carry out hundreds of inspections and regulatory visits throughout England and publish the results online.

How old is Ofsted?

The Office for Standards in Education (Ofsted) was formed under the Education (Schools) Act 1992, as part of the major overhaul and centralisation of the school system begun by the Education Reform Act 1988, which introduced the National Curriculum, extensive testing in schools and the publication of league tables.

What are three I’s?

The Three ‘I’s: intent, implementation and impact.

Who reports to Ofsted?

ParliamentAlthough OFSTED is a non-ministerial department of the UK government and reports to Parliament, it is independent and impartial.

What do Ofsted say about reading?

In 2019, Ofsted made “how children are taught to read” a priority for inspections in schools. Under the new EIF, all “infant, junior, primary and lower-middle schools” will undergo a reading ‘deep dive. ‘ This is mandatory and includes phonics!